How to Run Jobs Sequentially one after other?

Hii,
I’m new to concourse and my doubt is, i want to run all the jobs one after another with one condition that is “previous job should be successful”, the method i know is using “resources” and adding a “passed attribute” we can do that, but i don’t want to use resources and passed attribute method, because my job doesn’t need any resources, how can i achieve that ??
Here is the code:
groups:

• name: development
    jobs:
    • stage-a
    • stage-b
  • name: deployment
    jobs:
    • stage-c
      jobs:
  • name: stage-a
    serial: true
    plan:
    • task: stage-a
      config:
      platform: linux
      image_resource:
      type: docker-image
      source: {repository: busybox}
      run:
      path: env
      args: []
      params:
      STG1_NAME: ((stage-1))
  • name: stage-b
    plan:
    • task: stage-b
      config:
      image_resource:
      run:
      params:
      STG2_NAME: ((stage-2))
  • name: stage-c
    plan:
    • task: stage-c
      config:
      image_resource:
      run:
      params:
      STG3_NAME: ((stage-3))

The output will look like this (image), but in this way i need to execute the job manually, they won’t execute one after other, i want them to execute one after the other.

If you want them to be jobs, then you must use a resource like S3 (or a S3-compatible blob storage like Minio) with the “passed” attribute as you mention.

If you want to do the exercise of avoiding at all cost a resource (but why???), then you can use only one job and convert the existing jobs to tasks. Tasks within a single job run by default sequentially in the order they are written.

So, the only way is to convert the remaining jobs into tasks and make it as one job. Thanks. Is there any place where i can learn all the terms of concourse and there usage.
Here terms means jobs, groups, task, plan etc…

hi and welcome to Concourse!

Stark & Wayne made some very good beginner tutorials: