Concourse Helm Chart with Windows Workers

Hey all,

I was interested in contributing some windows worker support to the concourse helm chart.

I’ve made some basic changes to my helm fork and windows workers appear to be working (on AKS with Windows container preview) working successfully using some basic hello-world jobs.

I’m looking for some guidance and feedback on how to get this merged (this is my first time contribution to a helm chart) and what changes you’d want to see to get it there:

fork diff: https://github.com/helm/charts/compare/master...greenhouse-org:concourse-windows-workers

deployment & configuraton scripts for AKS: https://github.com/greenhouse-org/k8s-concourse-windows

3 Likes

Wow, this is super cool! If I understand correctly, these additions add the ability to launch Concourse workers within proper Windows containers? Nice!

Also, is “Greenhouse Org” a coincidence to “Greenhouse” (https://github.com/cloudfoundry/garden-windows)? Or is this actually adding a new backend within Concourse proper for Windows containers??

In either case, it’s really cool to see Windows containers executing tasks. I believe @cirocosta has been recently managing various issues related to the Helm chart for Concourse, so just tagging him to bring him into the conversation.

Hey @micahyoung , that’s pretty cool!

Thanks for tagging @edtan :grin:

I’m looking for some guidance and feedback on how to get this merged

We’ve been centralizing all of the code submission & review in the helm/charts repository , so going through the usual steps there is all that’s needed (see CONTRIBUTING.md):

• create an issue prefixed with [stable/concourse]
  • tag the maintainers (cirocosta, william-tran, YoussB)
  • ensure that you got the PR checklist completed (when you submit through the GitHub UI, it gives you a template to fill with the relevant info)

We’ll be happy to help & review :grin:

If you have any questions, just let me know!

Thanks @edtan,